We Support Your Ambition Library and Study Skills

Tap into the knowledge of our experienced campus Librarians and Study Skills Co-Ordinators who are here to support you with finding resources and developing your skills throughout your studies.

Our library team provides a range of face-to-face and online support services to enable you to develop your research skills to their full potential. Our online resources, which include professional legal and business databases, provide you with access to over 20,000 eBooks. These resources are available on and off campus so you’ll be able to look for what you need, when you need it.

Our Study Skills Co-Ordinators support students with one-on-one sessions, webinars and small group sessions. They help to develop skills including

  • Effective reading and note taking
  • Essay and dissertation writing
  • Revision and exam technique
  • Time management
  • Critical thinking
  • Presentation skills
  • Grammar, punctuation and spelling

library & study skillsHear from our students

In this short video, Nikolas shares his experience of working with Sarah Hall to develop his study skills.

Library Portal

Use the library portal to search for available print and online resources, book events and workshops, and book a study space on campus.

Open the Portal

Digital Academy

We are committed to helping our students and staff succeed in a digital world, so we created the Digital Academy to help you grow your digital confidence both at the University and beyond.

Visit the Academy

More information

Browse the options below to find more information about our library facilities and team.

Facilities at campus libraries include quiet, silent and collaborative study spaces, copiers, charging points and self issue kiosks. Some of our campus libraries also allow you to loan out laptops and this scheme will be expanding to more campus libraries soon.

Our highly qualified librarians and other dedicated members of the Library Service work tirelessly to improve the educational journey of all of our students. Their ability to help students locate resources to meet tight deadlines, sits alongside a warmth and kindness which is hugely appreciated by students.

So much so that our students recognised the Library Service with an award in 2018 - the Student Association's President’s Special Recognition Award.

You will get an opportunity to meet your library team during your induction and each library has its own programme of workshops and face-to-face training to support you in your studies. You can access our Library portal and explore how you can develop your digital skills through the Digital Academy.

If you have any queries regarding our library service, please email one of our campus libraries.

Birmingham campus library: Library-Birmingham@law.ac.uk
Bristol campus library: Library-Bristol@law.ac.uk
Chester campus library: Library-Chester@law.ac.uk
Guildford campus library: Library-Guildford@law.ac.uk
Leeds campus library: Library-Leeds@law.ac.uk
London Bloomsbury campus library: Library-Bloomsbury@law.ac.uk
London Moorgate campus library: Library-Moorgate@law.ac.uk
Manchester campus library: Library-Manchester@law.ac.uk
Nottingham campus library: Library-Nottingham@law.ac.uk

LiveProspectus

Discover more from the people who know us best, our students.