The University of Law awards Honorary Doctorates to human rights lawyer Beatrice Mtetwa and High Court Judge Dame Janet Smith

30 November 2015

Recognised for the outstanding contributions they have made in their field, The University of Law (ULaw) awarded honorary doctorates to Zimbabwean human rights lawyer Beatrice Mtetwa and High Court Judge The Rt Hon Dame Janet Smith DBE. 

Beatrice Mtetwa is internationally recognised for her courage in championing human rights and free speech in Zimbabwe. She has represented many defendants facing persecution, including journalists and human rights workers. Commenting on receiving the honour, Mrs Mtetwa said: ‘It’s a great privilege to be given such an accolade for something I enjoy and love doing”

Leading High Court Judge Dame Janet Smith has presided over some of the highest-profile legal cases of the last 20 years. She led the inquiry into Harold Shipman and was appointed by the BBC to lead the review into Jimmy Savile. She is the fourth woman to be promoted to the Court of Appeal and is the current Independent Assessor for Miscarriages of Justice, a position she has held since July 2011.

Beatrice Mtetwa and Dame Janet Smith join an impressive list of senior figures to be named honorary ULaw doctorates. They include Shami Chakrabarti, founder of Liberty, and Lord Goldsmith, barrister and former Attorney General for England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The honours were awarded at a graduation ceremony on Saturday 28 November at the Church House Conference Centre in Westminster, London, marking the achievements of ULaw LLB and LLM graduates.  They included the recipient of the highest LLB mark in the UK, David Reader who is now pursuing his ambition be a barrister studying at ULaw’s Bloomsbury campus. 

Professor Andrea Nollent, Provost and Chief Academic Officer ULaw said: ‘It is an honour to mark the achievements of our 2015 graduates and I know they will not fail to be inspired by the two worthy recipients of the honorary doctorates awarded today”.

For further information please contact:

Four Broadgate
Mark Knight/ Sarah Evans Toyne/ Chiara Barreca/ Danae Quek 
Telephone: 020 3697 4200

Get all the latest news from The University of Law