• 12 City Law Firms Form New Dispute Resolution Training Consortium

    16 July 2009

    Twelve City law firms have formed a new dispute resolution consortium in conjunction with The College of Law to pioneer a pooled structured training programme for junior dispute resolution lawyers.

    The programme of twelve courses is designed for lawyers from 0 to three years PQE (Post-Qualified Experience). It enables them to secure a thorough grounding in the core areas of the litigation process, from pre-action considerations to judgments and appeals, and including the most common methods of alternative dispute resolution (ADR). The courses are highly interactive and incorporate two High Court commercial case studies.

    The College plans to add more advanced courses as the programme develops. The College of Law is the largest provider of legal education in the country and also the leading provider of structured post-qualification training in law and practice. The design of the programme was led by Frances Pryor, the College’s Head of Dispute Resolution in Professional Development and a former partner of Herbert Smith.

    Colin Davey, the College’s Director of Professional Development, said: “As far as we are aware this is the first training consortium in the area of dispute resolution in the country.

    The programme leads directly on from work that the lawyers will have done at Legal Practice Course and Professional Skills Course level, and stretches participants so that they can manage the demands of practice more comfortably."

    Patrick McCann, Head of Training at Berwin Leighton Paisner, one of the founding member firms for the consortium, said: “We've been very pleased to see this offering brought to the market, creating new practical learning opportunities for junior associates in the litigation and dispute resolution department, being particularly effective for those with between six and 18 months' PQE."

    Listed in alphabetical order, the Dispute Resolution Training Consortium so far includes:

    • Berwin Leighton Paisner LLP
    • Clyde & Co LLP
    • Dechert LLP
    • Dundas & Wilson LLP
    • Lewis Silkin LLP
    • Lovells LLP
    • Mayer Brown LLP
    • Mills & Reeve LLP
    • Mishcon de Reya
    • Nabarro LLP
    • Olswang LLP
    • White & Case LLP

    Further information

    Contact Lucy Wray, Press Officer, The College of Law on 01483 216072 (lucy.wray@lawcol.co.uk).